Farris & Farris, P.A.
Call Today for a Free Consultation*
Local 252-360-1339
Toll Free 888-569-0691

North Carolina texting and driving laws

More and more states are banning the use of handheld devices when behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. North Carolina has joined the ranks, banning texting and driving. It's almost common sense that operating a vehicle and using a mobile phone at the same time is unsafe, but states have still needed to create laws against this.

If you are under the age of 18 you cannot operate a motor vehicle and use a mobile phone or any other technology related to a mobile phone while the vehicle is in motion. There are exceptions to this law and they include the following:

- Talking to a doctor's office

- Talking to a 911 dispatcher

- Talking to a hospital or health clinic

- Talking to an ambulance company

- Talking to a fire department

- Talking to law enforcement

- Talking to the operator's parent or legal guardian

The law makes stipulations that include email, digital cameras, games, the internet, music and other activities associated with mobile phones and other mobile devices. Anyone found in violation of this law will be issued a $25 fine. There are no points, court costs or insurance surcharges involved with such a violation.

All drivers in North Carolina are prohibited from texting or reading a text message while operating a vehicle. There are exceptions to this law and they include law enforcement officers, fire department members and operators of public or private ambulances.

Any driver caught texting and driving in North Carolina will be issued a fine of $100 and court fees of at least $130. An insurance surcharge will not be assessed and no points will be added to your driver's license.

Distracted driving is a serious problem on the roads of North Carolina. Distracted driving does not only include the use of a mobile device. It also includes talking to others in the car, changing the radio stations, reading, eating, shaving and more.

Visit our site today to learn more about the texting and driving laws in the state of North Carolina.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

108 E. Nash St
P.O. Box 2727
Wilson, NC 27894

Toll Free: 888-569-0691
Phone: 252-360-1339
Fax: 252-291-8826
Map & Directions

  • The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • 10 Best 2016 | Client satisfaction | American Institute of Personal injury Attorneys TM
  • North Carolina Advocates for Justice | Protecting people's rights
  • Super Lawyers
Master Card | VISA | Discover