Farris & Farris, P.A.

Call For A Free Consultation 252-360-1339

What are the consequences of underage driving while intoxicated?

According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation, nearly 40 teens between 16 and 19 years of age suffered fatal injuries on our state's roads in 2009 alone. Further, 24 of these fatal crashes involved alcohol. As part of the North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program, the DOT has provided information about the consequences for underage drivers who drive while intoxicated. Although the law protects children of all ages, there are still very serious penalties associated with underage DUIs.

People under the age of 21 convicted of drinking and driving can receive these penalties:

-- One-year loss of driver's license

-- A Class 2 misdemeanor punishment

-- Community service sentence with jail time or a $250 fee

-- Pay mandatory court costs of $190

-- Pay up to $1,000 in fines

-- Increased insurance premiums of up to 400 percent

Following a conviction, 18, 19 or 20-year-olds can acquire limited driving privileges -- only if they have no prior convictions -- for a $100 fee.

Underage drivers stopped by the police and found with any detectable concentration of alcohol can receive these penalties, even if the amount of alcohol falls below established legal limits:

-- On-the-spot loss of driver's license for 30 days

-- Must pay a $100 fee to have license returned

-- Can be convicted for any alcohol reading above 0.00

-- Screening results are admissible in court

-- Alcohol odor combined with refusing an alcohol test could lead to a conviction

-- Refusing a chemical analysis means an automatic one-year revocation of driver's license

-- Increased insurance premiums of up to 400 percent

Unfortunately, underage drivers make mistakes that can result in misdemeanor or felony DUI charges. If this happens, the advice of an experienced attorney as early as possible in order may help to avoid the harshest penalties of a DUI/DWI conviction.

Source:  NCDOT.gov, "Underage Drinking: Adult Consequences" Aug. 11, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

How Can We Help You?

Call us at 252-360-1339 or fill out the form below to schedule an initial consultation with an experienced attorney.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

  • The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • North Carolina Advocates for Justice | Protecting people's rights
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Super lawyers
  • North Carolina  Bar Association | Seeking Liberty & Justice
  • 10 Best 2016 | Client satisfaction | American Institute of Personal injury Attorneys TM

108 Nash St. E.
P.O. Box 2727
Wilson, NC 27894

Toll Free: 888-569-0691
Phone: 252-360-1339
Fax: 252-291-8826
Wilson Law Office Map