Marijuana is a drug that seems to stay in the news these days. Some states are making recreational marijuana legal. Other states are making medical marijuana legal. Some other states are decriminalizing marijuana. North Carolina is one of the states that has taken steps to decriminalize marijuana, but there are still penalties for marijuana convictions.
Are possession of marijuana charges felonies or misdemeanors?
Possession of marijuana charges that involves less than 1.5 ounces of the drug are misdemeanor charges. Felony charges for possession of marijuana include 1.5 ounces to 10 pounds of the drug.
What are the penalties for possession of marijuana?
The penalties for a possession of marijuana conviction depend on the amount of the drug. For less than .5 ounces, there is a $200 fine. For .5 ounces to 1.5 ounces, you face $1,000 fine and one to 45 days in jail. Both of those are misdemeanors. If you have 1.5 ounces to 10 pounds of marijuana, you face a felony charge that carries $1,000 fine and three to eight months in jail.
What are the classifications and penalties for selling or trafficking marijuana?
Charges relating to selling or trafficking marijuana are felonies. Selling marijuana is a Class I felony in some cases. Trafficking marijuana ranges from a Class H felony to a Class D felony depending on the amount. A Class H felony for 10 to 50 pounds of marijuana carries a fine of $5,000 and a 25 to 30 month incarceration period. A Class D felony for over 10,000 pounds of marijuana carries a $200,000 fine and 175 to 219 months in prison. Other amounts fall between those two ranges.
If you are facing any charge related to marijuana, even a misdemeanor, you should get to work immediately on your defense. Any drug conviction can greatly affect your life, so working to minimize those effects is vital.
Source: FindLaw, "North Carolina Marijuana Laws," accessed Aug. 30, 2015