Heroin is a very dangerous drug. It is so dangerous that it is the subject of some of the toughest drug laws across the country. North Carolina law considers all criminal charges involving heroin to be felony charges. That means that if you are convicted of having even a small amount of heroin in your possession, you will have a felony record and can face time in prison.
Simple possession of heroin is classified as a Class I felony in North Carolina. That means that you face 3 to 12 months in prison if you are convicted of a simple possession charge.
Selling and trafficking heroin are even more serious in the eyes of the law in the state. Selling heroin is charged as a Class G felony in most cases, which can result in a prison sentence of 8 to 31 months depending on the circumstances.
There are some enhancements that can result in a Class E felony charge for selling heroin, which can mean a prison sentence of 15 to 63 months depending on the circumstances. Those enhancements include heroin within 300 feet of school property, selling it to a person who is under 16 years old, or selling it to a pregnant woman.
Trafficking heroin can lead to 70 to 279 months in prison, depending on the amount of heroin involved in the case. The felony charge can be a Class F, Class E, or Class C felony.
If you are facing a heroin charge, you must work on your defense right away. These charges are very serious charges that can have life-long consequences.
Source: FindLaw, "North Carolina Heroin Laws," accessed Nov. 23, 2015