Drug charges in North Carolina come with some harsh penalties. All cocaine charges in North Carolina are felony charges that come with the possibility of time in prison. Even a possession of cocaine conviction means that you are facing time in jail.
Possession of cocaine carries a six- to 12-month jail sentence. This is considered a Class I felony, but might be charged as a higher charge if there is a considerable amount of cocaine that is involved in the case.
The sale of cocaine is a more serious drug-related charge. This is considered a Class G felony under most circumstances. There are enhancements that might occur in some cases. Selling cocaine to a pregnant woman, selling it to a person who is under 18 years old and selling within 300 feet of a school are all reasons why the charge might be increased to a Class E felony.
Cocaine trafficking is even more serious. This charge can be a Class G, F or D felony, depending on the amount of cocaine involved in the case. All told, a conviction for trafficking cocaine can lead to a 35- to 222-month incarceration and fines of up to $250,000.
When you are facing a serious prison sentence and possible fines, it is easy to focus on that sentence alone. Instead, you should take a proactive approach to your case by working vigorously to build the defense strategy. Learning the possible options that you have can help you to determine which one you should use to combat the circumstances of the case against you.
Source: FindLaw, "North Carolina Cocaine Laws," accessed Dec. 08, 2015